Havac Walkers Walking Club

We are a U.K walking club based in Haverhill, Suffolk. We are a member of The British Walking Federation (BWF). We organise seven winter walks, offering a distance of 5k, 10k or 20k. These are held on the first Sunday during the winter, beginning in October. Start time is 9.00 a.m. for those walkers wishing to complete the 20k. Anyone who wants to walk the short route with a member of Havac should arrive at the start by 9:30. Walkers happy to walk the short route on their own can arrive any time between  9.00 and 10:30. We also organise seven summer walks, which are held on a Monday evening. These are 5k and 10k , and are held every other Monday beginning in late May. Start time is 6:00 p.m. A written route description is supplied. The cost per walk per person is 50p. We also organise  mid-week walks, which are held on the third Thursday of each month, throughout the whole year, offering a 10k walk, plus a shorter walk of 5k.  Walks are within a radius of 25 miles of Haverhill. You can walk with a group, or on your own, on the summer and winter walks, but the Thursday walks are group lead. If you are new to walking and would prefer to walk with a club member, contact the walk organiser or a committee member, and this can be arranged. There is no better way to see the countryside, and to keep healthy. The club also has 16 “All year round” Permanent Trails in the Haverhill area, which are self-guided. A route description can be downloaded from this website, and they can be walked at any time.

Committee Members

The committee currently has nine members, who stand for re-election every year at The A.G.M. This is usually held in October. The current committee members are:

Ray Shanks Chairman (01440 762198)
Pat Shanks Secretary  
Colin Smith Treasurer  
Barrie Schulz
Gerry Pavey
Summer Series Secretary
Thursday Series Secretary
(01440 788617)
(01440 703311)
Ann Whiting Letter & Information Secretary  
Max Eason Permanent Trails Secretary (01440 705170)
Ann Whiting Membership Secretary  
Max Eason BWF Liaison Officer (01440 705170)
Barrie Schulz/ Gerry Pavey/John Smith Committee Members